Looking Ahead

moyeNew Year and New Format: The 59th Cincinnati World Piano Competition

Moye Chen, 2014 Gold Medalist

It was my great honor to be named the Gold Medalist of the 58th Cincinnati World Piano Competition. I greatly enjoyed the competition last June, and particularly enjoyed performing with the world-famous Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra. I am very grateful to the CWPC for providing such fantastic opportunities for young pianists.

after hearing Tobias Picker’s Four Etudes for Ursula, I became interested in Picker’s music and have decided to perform and write about his piano compositions for my doctoral project

I am sure that the 59th competition, a prestigious five-round competition with a new format, will attract many wonderful pianists. The bracket-type structure is exciting. We will again have the opportunity to listen to American contemporary piano music, which in my opinion is one of the most interesting elements of the CWPC. In the 58th Edition, I played works by John Corigliano and David Rakowski. Also, after hearing Tobias Picker’s Four Etudes for Ursula, I became interested in Picker’s music and have decided to perform and write about his piano compositions for my doctoral project. In next year’s competition, I am looking forward to hearing two wonderful masterpieces: Fantasia on an Ostinato by John Corigliano and Tenebrae by Michael Hersch.

The 59th Cincinnati World Piano Competition will definitely be exciting, I hope that you will be a part of the excitement.

Leave a Reply

